Greek Mythology: The 12 Olympians

Greek Mythology: The 12 Olympians

Sarah Lyle, Staff Writer

Have you ever heard of the Greek Mythology? Greek Mythology is a huge part of history, and today I will be telling you about the gods that lead a huge role in this culture.

In Greek Mythology, there are 12 Olympians (Or gods), and they rule over Mt. Olympus. Each god has a different skill that is used in Olympus.

Out of the 12 Olympians, there are 3 dominant ones. Zeus, Hades and Poseidon were the first 3 gods, and all of the other gods were their children/siblings. These 3 gods rule over the sky (Zeus), sea (Poseidon) and underworld (Hades). Below is a full list of the 12 Olympians and their powers;

Zeus- King of the gods. Also the god of the sky, lightning, thunder, law, order and justice.

Hera- Queen of the gods. Also the goddess of marriage, women, childbirth and family.

Poseidon- God of the sea, water, storms, hurricanes, earthquakes and horses.

Demeter- Goddess of the harvest, agriculture, nature and seasons.

Athena- Goddess of wisdom, handicraft and war.

Apollo- God of light, the Sun, prophecy, philosophy, archery, truth, inspiration, poetry, music, arts, medicine, healing, and plague.

Artemis- Goddess of the hunt, the wilderness, the moon, archery, childbirth, protection and plague.

Ares- God of war, bloodshed, and many virtues.

Aphrodite- Goddess of love, pleasure, passion, beauty and desire.

Hephaestus- Master blacksmith of the gods, god of the forge, craftsmanship, invention, fire and volcanoes.

Hermes- Messenger of the gods, god of travel, commerce, communication, borders, diplomacy, thieves, and games.

Dionysus- God of wine, the grapevine, festivity, madness and resurrection.

And those are the 12 Olympians! If you want to know anything else about Greek Mythology, please leave a comment and I will be happy to write another article for you.

Works cited: